Homeschool Days

We have reached six weeks since I’ve started homeschooling my fourth grader. I find it more inspiring to chunk the homeschooling into sections rather than looking at the whole year. 🙂 I have four children divided into three completely different types of schools. My oldest is in the public school, we’re homeschooling my fourth grader, and my two youngest attend a nature-based charter school. I have found that it takes dedication, organization, and sometimes an internal push to get through the homeschool day. However, I am truly loving it! I enjoy not only spending more time with my son but feel honored to see first-hand his progress in many areas. Since he’s home, we’ve been able to add a music lesson once a week along with his curriculum. I have an old upright piano, which is from the earlier 1900’s, that belonged to my father’s cousin. I played this same piano growing up and it’s heartwarming to see it loved by my son.
Homeschooling hasn’t left me with much time to write here on my blog or post on my Facebook page. I do have some projects that I’m working on and I hope to share those very soon! I’m constantly looking for that balance in time. 🙂

I purposefully shot the photo below in a high ISO because I felt more grain in the picture would help capture the true age of this beautiful instrument. I think sometimes we toss a picture, or may be disappointed in it, due to the grain (or noise) in the photo. I used to say, “Oh! That would be perfect if it didn’t have a lot of grain.” However, different lighting, different experiences, different moments are captured in the purest sense that they are meant to be. I feel it’s better to embrace it and see the history of those moments.

Since it is a dreary cloudy day, the low lighting helped me out today. 🙂 Shot with my 100mm lens, f.stop 2.8, ISO 2500

Hugs,
Christina

piano 1

One thought on “Homeschool Days

Leave a Reply

