You Want To Take MY Picture?

First of all, let me start out by saying these are my BFF’s children.  So, as I write this, I write this as if they were my own kids.  I think sometimes we will look at other  people’s family photos and think, “Why don’t my kids look like that in a photo?”  Seriously, they’re kids! Kids will be kids will be kids.  🙂 Sometimes, no matter how silly I act, how many pieces of PEZ I hand out in between photos, how many words of encouragement, children have made up their minds that they are not going to get their picture taken today.  🙂 This is where the beauty of a fast shutter speed and candid shots come in handy.  I wanted to show you a quick snapshot of what is common with children shoots.

You have the “I’m going to tickle you…” picture to start the session with.

Then comes the “Let’s make faces at the camera” picture.

“Seriously, you want me actually look at you when I can so coolly cross my eyes?”  Ah, I can’t tell you how much this makes me laugh!!! This is an art with children, right?

“No matter how goofy you behave I will NOT smile as my sister pinches my bum.”

“This is my very best look you know! I can make my brother smile.”  🙂

“Ah…….aren’t we finished yet???? What is taking so long? Can we go get ice cream?”

“Come on…..you’re not smiling! Here, let me help you.”

“Okay, I am done! ”

And, in between the shots of pinching, headlocks, tickling, and giving me your best growling face towards the camera are the quick shots of capturing the moments that you typically see on a Christmas card.  You only need one shot, right?  🙂  Honestly, I think one of the above pictures makes the best Christmas card!

       

I wish all of you a happy holiday season as you try to capture that perfect moment that truly expresses your child for your holiday card.  🙂

Christina

4 thoughts on “You Want To Take MY Picture?

  1. Maybe they’re getting a little too comfortable with you! 🙂 I love this post, I’m starting to love all of the pictures, and I love my BFF! THANK YOU once again for putting up with my children and for capturing who they truly are this year 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on Joyful Mama Designs and commented:
    Gotta love this post! I know Thanksgiving is over, but I am so grateful for my amazing friend (who also happens to be a wonderful photographer). I have always told her that I love how she captures children…these crazy kids are no exception 🙂 Thank you Christina for helping me with my Christmas cards again this year!

  3. Beautiful pictures!!! You really captured who they are .Funny,goofy,and beautiful!!!! I need to order some of these.

Leave a Reply

